Secret London: Charing Cross
Little Known Facts about Charing Cross
After the decaying Eleanor cross was pulled down in 1647, some of the stone was used for making knife handles and some for paving in Whitehall.
After the Restoration of the British monarchy in 1660, several rebel executions were carried out at the site of the Eleanor cross.
The first ever Punch and Judy show in England is believed to have been given in Charing Cross, by an Italian puppeteer in 1666.
The arches beneath Charing Cross Station were the inspiration behind the famous song, “Underneath the Arches?. The song was performed by the wartime singing and comedy double act Chesney Allen and Bud Flanagan.
Charing Cross Station was built on the site of Hungerford Market, originally owned by the Hungerford Family. The family are remembered by the Hungerford Bridge, which leads into Charing Cross over the River Thames.